Author Interview with Ronie Kendig!

 

Today I have the great pleasure of interviewing one of my all-time favorite authors: Ronie Kendig! Her books combine some of the most intensely real characters I have ever read with stunning un-put-downable action scenes.If y’all out there haven’t tried any of her books yet, you really should. You won’t regret it! 

ronie-kendig


Author Bio:

Ronie Kendig is an award-winning, bestselling author of a dozen novels. She grew up an Army brat. Now, she and her husband, an Army veteran, have an adventurous life in Northern Virginia with their children and a retired military working dog, VVolt N629. Ronie’s degree in Psychology has helped her pen novels of intense, raw characters.

 

 

The Interview

What is your favorite hobby?
I would probably say crocheting or decorating.

Which do you prefer? Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?
Um, depends. Haha. I think coffee as long as you’re talking Stabucks lattes. And tea – well, that’s pretty much always good. I’m not big on hot chocolate, though.

Tell us something about yourself that most people don’t know.
I’m a 2nd degree black belt in tae kwon do

What are the hardest scenes for you to write?
I think action scenes are tough because I really work them hard–I make sure every action has a reaction. Ever impact a resonance. They take a lot out of me, and I’ll rewrite them as many times as possible to get it right.
conspiracy-of-silence
Of all the characters you have written, do you have a favorite?
I do not – because each of them are a favorite for a different reason. I am really fond of Tox right now, but perhaps that’s because I’m immersed in his story still.

All your characters have an incredible amount of emotional depth. How do you write them so realistically?
I think that having a degree in psychology has really helped me a lot–and understanding people. I’ve got a sixth sense about people, and that drives my stories. I’ll never start a story without exploring the character first.

Are you an outliner, or a seat-of-your-pants writer?
Yes. Ha. Sorry, I’m not being difficult but there are times I plot and times run by the seat of my pants. Depends on the story and/or the demands of my publisher.

Is there anything specific that you hope readers take away from your writing?
You said in the question–HOPE. I want readers to see and believe there is ALWAYS hope, especially hope in Christ.
AccelerantCoverFinal
What is one piece of advice you would like to give aspiring authors?
It’s very important to take the time to learn the ropes of writing, learn the rules and they why of those rules. It’s so easy to say, “they just don’t get my story,” or to want to push and be “edgy” or “real,” but perhaps that really means you are still growing into your authorial skin. Even with fifteen traditionally published novels, I know I still have a lot to learn, and I pray I never stop learning/growing. So, learn those rules. Master them. But in the end, down the road, don’t let them strangle your story or your voice.

 

Thank you so much, Ronie, for taking the time to do this interview with me! It was great having you!

Conspiracy of Silence: a book review

Author Website: Rapid Fire Fiction
Author Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

