The Shattered Vigil: a book review


Victory over the dark forces during the feast of Bas-solas should have guaranteed safety for the continent. Instead, Willet and the rest of the Vigil discover they’ve been outsmarted by those seeking to unleash the evil that inhabits the Darkwater. Jorgen, the member of the Vigil assigned to Frayel, has gone missing, and new attacks have struck at the six kingdoms’ ability to defend themselves.

Just when the Vigil thought they had quenched the menace from their enemy in Collum, a new threat emerges: assassins hunting the Vigil, men and women who cannot be seen until it’s too late. The orders of the church and the rulers of the kingdoms, fearing the loss of the Vigil’s members altogether, have decided to take them into protective custody to safeguard their gift. On Pellin’s orders, the Vigil scatters, leaving Willet to be taken prisoner by the church in Bunard.

In the midst of this, Willet learns of the murder of an obscure nobleman’s daughter by one of the unseen assassins. Now he must escape his imprisonment and brave the wrath of the church to find the killer in order to turn back this latest threat to the northern continent.

My Review:

Bunard is still reeling from the horror of Bas-solas. Fear and paranoia rule the streets. A few believe the danger is past, but Willet and Pellin fear this is only the beginning. No one knows who or what is behind the evils of the Darkwater, nor do they have any idea how to stop it.

When a murderer that they cannot see attacks, the chuch decides the only solution is to take Willet and the rest of the Vigil into custody, the Vigil along the urchins they have chosen to bring with them as holders for the gift should anything hapen to a member of the Vigil, make a run for it. Fearing the problems within his mind and that the Darkwater may be recieving information through him, they leave Willet behind to the church’s custody.

But Willet is never one to sit still for long, and when a murder occurs with the markings of one of the same assasins that attacked him before, Willet breaks free and begins to hunt for answers, but he may already be too late to stop what the Darkwater has planned.

I felt bad for Willet in this book. He’s been through so much, but the blows just keep on coming. As he learns more about his gift, the challenges and suffering only get worse, and his mental stability comes and goes. Even his relationship with his beloved fiance is threatened.

We get to see a lot more of the Vigil and the urchins this time around. I hope to see a lot more of Fenn and Mark in the next book. I am eager to see where their stories go, and I really want to see more of Jeb and Lytling. They are such an adorable pair.

The religious beliefs in this book are – confusing. For being a christian book, there doesn’t seem to be that much faith, and something about the belief system doesn’t quite sit right with me. I can’t put my finger on it, but I think some of it is the fact that no matter how strong a character’s faith seems to be, it is useless against the Darkwater. I don’t belive that evil like that can or should be able to smother faith so completely.

The Shattered Vigil is every bit as wild a ride as the first book in the series. Once again, it may not be the best choice for the younger readers.

**I received a free copy of this book from Revell in exchange for an honest review. I was in no way required to leave a good review. I promise this review is my genuine opinion of the book.**

My Rating: Four Flames

flame cropped flame cropped flame cropped flame cropped

Heat Advisory:

Romance: clean. Some mild kissing and flirting. One minor character gets raped off-page. No details are given.
Language: clean
Drinking/drugs: some main characters do drink some alcohol, but no drunkenness. Villains did use a drug to knock a character out.
Violence/blood: This book is slightly tamer than its predecessor, but not by much. There are a good number of fights, chases, injuries, and murders/murder investigations.
Other: this book – like its predecessor – touches on the subjects of mental illness and the supernatural. Many characters also have the ability to get inside another’s head and mess with them.

Amazon Kindle Link:The Shattered Vigil (The Darkwater Saga Book 2)
Amazon Paperback Link:The Shattered Vigil (The Darkwater Saga)

Author Website
Author Facebook Page

Happy Reading y’all!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s