Failstate: a book review

Description:
Why did Robin Laughlin (a.k.a. Failstate) think being a superhero on a reality show would be a good idea?

Things seemed so simple: Win the show, become an official, licensed hero. But with his brother, Ben (a.k.a. Gauntlet) stealing America’s heart—and with Rob’s own powers proving too unwieldy for TV—Failstate begins to wonder if he’s going to live up to the failure in his name.

Until one of his friends and fellow competitors is murdered.

Robin vows to find the killer, and he sets out on a very real quest to unmask the hidden villain. Can Failstate find justice? Or will his lunk of a big brother ruin everything-including taking the girl who has stolen Rob’s heart?

Very soon, Failstate and Gauntlet will come to blows.

Which has been the villain’s plan all along.

My Review:

I originally bought this book because I was bored and thought that with its rather silly sounding premise would at least be worth a few laughs. Boy was I ever wrong! And I say that in the best possible way!

What I found was a surprisingly serious, – though sometimes purposefully cliche – realistic, and well thought out story world that, while it was still full of you typical overblown superhero action scenes, felt almost as though it could actually happen.

Some parts read more like a good mystery novel. There was plenty of investigating to be had and it was great to see Failstate using his head and not just his powers as too many superheroes seem to do. The characters were very well rounded and likable. I love how the author subtly weaves his faith into the plot without ever  shoving it in your face. This book is also very clean and this reader appreciates that a great deal.

This book was a surprise gem that has set John Otte high on my list of favorite authors. And since I have read both of the sequels, I can assure you it only gets better from here!

My Rating: Five Flames

flame cropped flame cropped flame cropped flame cropped flame cropped

Heat Advisory: Note – I read this book a few years ago. I think I remember all the pertinent details, but it is possible I have forgotten a few things.

Romance: Clean. Only a kiss or two
Language:  Clean
Drinking/Drugs: clean
Blood/violence: Oh, there’s plenty of violence here. It is a superhero novel after all! You have a murder, kidnappings, giant robots, and I believe I recall someone blowing up a building…

Amazon Kindle Link:Failstate Currently FREE on Amazon!!!!!
Amazon Paperback Link: Failstate

Author Website: John W. Otte
Facebook Page: Author Facebook

Happy Reading y’all!

Leave a Reply

