Dare: a book review

Description:   

Courage could cost him everything.

Third Blade Leith Torren never questions his orders or his loyalty to King Respen until an arrow wound and a prairie blizzard drive him to the doorstep of the girls whose family he once destroyed.

Their forbidden faith and ties to the Resistance could devastate their family a second time.

Survival depends on obedience, but freedom beckons. How far does he dare go to resist the king and his Blades?

No matter what Leith chooses, one thing is certain.

Someone will die.

My Review:

I absolutely adored this debut novel by author Tricia Mingerink. I am a total sucker for redemption stories so this book was pretty much perfect for me.

There is just so much awesome with this book I hardly know where to start. So, lets start with the setting. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this novel was set on the prairie. I have never seen this particular setting in a fantasy novel before and thought that that was pretty cool, although I wasn’t even sure how it would work! But she pulled it off like a pro and now I can’t imagine this story in any other setting.

Leith is such an awesome main character! I just love him to death. Even with his raising and manner of lifestyle, he is still a man of honor and compassion. Tortured heroes and redemption stories are some of my all time favorites, which is probably why like Jace, the hero of the last book review I put up – Resistance – Leith has totally become one of my top ten fiction heroes ever!

The main heroine, Renna, was a a little more difficult to get close to at first. I totally understood her, but the connection took a bit longer. She is hurting quite a lot and carries a heavy burden of fear on her young shoulders. I absolutely loved her little sister Brandi. That girl was so much fun, But it was tough to get a clear picture of her age in my mind. I often thought that she was younger than she really was by the way she acted sometimes.

I am also a huge fan of Martin and Shad. I so badly want to see Martin redeemed too.

The message wrapped up in Dare is a powerful one.  Redemption and forgiveness are realistically woven into the plot. Trust is another one. Leith struggles a lot with his past as it constantly holds him back from becoming the man he wants to be. He’s a Blade. This title distances him from others, turns acceptance into fear and even hate. Leith wants some thing better for his life. He wants freedom

But does he dare to fight?

Check out Dare now! It is currently free on Amazon Kindle for Labor Day weekend! – Dare (The Blades of Acktar Book 1)
My Rating: Five Flames

flame cropped flame cropped flame cropped flame cropped flame cropped

Heat Advisory

Romance: No romance yet. That will come later. 😉
Language: clean
Drinking / Drugs: nothing I recall.
Blood / Violence: this is a book about assassins so there will be violence. There are a handful of deaths, fights, murder, the aftermath of a torture session, a variety of injuries, cauterizing a wound, digging arrows out of people  and the like. I know that sounds terrible, but most of it is quite non-graphic.

Find the Amazon Kindle link here: Dare (The Blades of Acktar Book 1)
or the Paperback version here: Dare (The Blades of Acktar) (Volume 1)

Author Website link: Tricia Mingerink
Facebook page: Tricia Mingerink Facebook

Happy Reading y’all!

 

 

Leave a Reply

